Grand Final Re-Match Kicks Off 2017/18 Season
Date of Event : Fri Oct 13, 2017 11:47AM
Wellington CC's Wayne Quarrell in action in the 2016/17 Statewide T20 Competition

The 2017/18 Kookaburra Southern Cricket Association season kicks off this weekend with all eight Grades competing in Round One of the SCA Twenty20 Competition.


Full Fixture


Playing in the last three First Grade T20 Grand Finals, St Annes host Wellington at Cadbury Oval No. 1 and with both clubs boasting quality lineups, it promises to be a mouth-watering contest between the two powerhouses of the SCA Competition. 


Whilst finishing Runners-Up in the past three seasons in the Twenty20 competition, St Annes will be looking redemption following their shattering loss to Wellington in the One-Day Final last season, however, the Club will be buoyed with the additions of Jason Shelton (Kingborough) and Trent Rollins (Kingston Crows).


Arguably one of the most successful Cricket Club in Australia in the modern era, Wellington (who have won the past five One-Day and four Twenty20 titles) have been dominant on the road in recent seasons and will be hoping to start the season with a strong victory over their cross-town rivals.


Gun recruit Matthew Bowden will make his debut for New Norfolk when the Red Caps hosts Montagu Bay at Tynwald Park.


A 152-game veteran for New Town and Lindisfarne in the Cricket Tasmania Premier League, Bowden, a former Tasmanian U/19 State Representative will bring a wealth of experience and batting class to the Red Caps lineup


Matthew Bowden CTPL Career Statistics


Following their promotion to the top flight after capturing last season SCA Second Grade premiership, Montagu Bay will be eager to test their abilities against the best this season.


The club will once again be looking to Mark Darby (413 Runs at 37.55) and get their club a strong start at the top of the order while Rod Hall was influential with the ball last season, capturing 23 wickets at 18.70.


In other SCA First Grade matches, Claremont tackles St Aidan’s at Abbotsfield Park while Old Beach square off against Derwent at Old Beach Oval.


You can follow live scores, results and player statistics on the Kookaburra Southern Cricket Association website at

Last updated: Friday October 13, 2017 2:49PM